22nd Asian Television Awards 2017 nominees announced

Winners of each category will be announced at the 22nd Asian Television Awards on 30 November and 1st December 2017.

Afgansyah Reza Asian Television Awards Asian Television Awards 2017 ATA ATA 2017 Bii GG Magree Joanna Dong Kim Jong-kook


The nominees of 22nd Asian Television Awards 2017 have been announced. The event takes place on 30 November and 1 December 2017 at Suntec Singapore Convention & Exhibition Centre.

Highlights of award categories this year include ‘Best Drama Series’, ‘Best Comedy Programme’, ‘Best Entertainment Presenter/Host’, ‘Best Actor in a Leading Role’, ‘Best Actress in a Leading Role’, ‘Best Actor in a Supporting Role’, ‘Best Actress in a Supporting Role’, and ‘Best Comedy Performance by an Actor/ Actress’.

22nd Asian Television Awards 2017

Asian Television Awards 2017 Nominees

Best Drama Series

Riding on the success of K-pop fever, Korean television receives four nominations in the ‘Best Drama Series’ category, featuring KBS’ Love in the Moonlight, MBC’s The Rebel, SBS’ Dr. Romantic, and breakthrough Korean television series Guardian: The Lonely and Great God, or better known as Goblin, by CJ E&M, starring the critically acclaimed Gong Yoo.

Best Comedy Programme

Headlining the ‘Best Comedy Programme’ category are nominees from Singapore, Thailand, Hong Kong and Korea. Nominees from Singapore include Viacom International Media Networks’ Comedy Central Stand-Up Asia, Mediacorp’s Fine Tune, The Noose 9, and Meet the MP; and from Thailand, House of Blast – Dracula in Troubles and Under Her Nose by Thai Broadcasting Company.

 Best Entertainment Presenter/ Host

Allan Wu earns two nominations for ‘Best Entertainment Presenter/Host’ category for reality series – The Amazing Race Asia Season 5 by Sony Pictures, and Mediacorp’s Unique Towns – Brazil Ladies Village.

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Taiwan and Singapore lead in ‘Best Actor in a Leading Role’ category. Taiwan secures three nominations for the category with veteran actors Ko Shu Yuan for Formosa Television’s Far and Away, Tsai Chen-Nan for Formosa Television’s She’s Family, and Chris Wu for We are One by Tzu Chi Culture and Communication Foundation; while Singapore receives four nominations for A. Penneeirchelvam for Ninaivugal, Hasnul Rahmat for 7 Hari, Tony Eusoff and Ramesh Panicker for The Hush, all by Mediacorp. Satyadeep Mishra from India is nominated for his performance in P.O.W. – Bandi Yuddh Ke by Keshet International.

Best Actress in a Leading Role

The ‘Best Actress in a Leading Role’ category sees seven nominees from Malaysia, Japan, Taiwan, Singapore, and Hong Kong. Former action star and one of Hong Kong’s veteran actresses, Kara Wai Ying Hung receives nomination for her leading role in Radio Television Hong Kong’s Affairs of the Heart, while Singapore’s number one “Ah Jie”, Zoe Tay is nominated for her role in Mediacorp’s nursing series, You Can be an Angel 2.

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Rising stars, Oabnithi and Krissanapoom “Jayler” snag a nomination each in the ‘Best Actor in a Supporting Role’ category for their performances in Thai suspense series – I Hate You, I Love You. Their nominations mark the first performance category nominations from productions by OTT platforms – LINE TV, alongside Mediacorp Toggle’s 2389 Days Apart and Yes Mdm.

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

The youngest nominee, Puteri Balqis from Malaysia, earns her nomination for ‘Best Actress in a Supporting Role’ for her outstanding performance on Ana Anak Ibu by Measat Broadcast Network Systems, following her win at the 19th Asian Television Awards for ‘Best Actress in a Leading Role’ in 2014.

 Best Comedy Performance by an Actor/ Actress

Another hotly contended category – ‘Best Comedy Performance by an Actor/ Actress’, sees seven out of eight nominees from Singapore. They are J. Jai Kishan for Yes Mdm by Mediacorp Toggle, Nurul Aini for Kathy Gerenti, Siti Khalijah for Sekuriti, Oon Shu An and R. Chandran for Meet the MP, and Alaric Tay and Chua En Lai for The Noose 9, all by Mediacorp. Hong Kong industry veteran Bobby Au-Yeung secures a nomination for his performance on Television Broadcasts Limited’s (TVB) House of Spirits.

Tickets to the 22nd Asian Television Awards 2017 are available on https://www.sistic.com.sg/events/cawards1217, and will be broadcasting live across Asia. Confirmed performers include Afgansyah, Joanna Dong, Bii, Kim Jong-kook and GG Magree. Baki Zainal, Stephanie Carrington and Wang Li Huan will be hosting the “live” televised segment on 1 December 2017.

For the full list of nominations for the 22nd Asian Television Awards 2017, visit www.asiantvawards.com to find out more.